David Boudia honored as Athlete of the Year

Greensboro, N.C. — David Boudia (Noblesville, Ind.) was honored as USA Diving’s Athlete of the Year at the United States Aquatic Sports awards banquet Saturday. Boudia was also selected as Athlete of the Year in 2008, 2010 and 2011.

The two-time Olympian won Olympic gold in the men’s 10-meter platform event this year. In winning Olympic diving gold Boudia became the first American man to do since 1992 and the first American man to do so on platform since Greg Louganis in 1988. Boudia also won an Olympic bronze medal in the synchronized 10-meter event with partner Nick McCrory (Chapel Hill, N.C.), earning USA its first ever synchronized platform Olympic medal. During the 2012 FINA World Series, Boudia finished second in the overall standings both individually and in synchronized diving with McCrory.

Several other awards were presented at convention.

Benjamin Foundation Coaches Performance Awards, which recognized coaches who have coached an Olympic medalist in the past four years, were awarded to Randy Ableman, Wenbo Chen, Drew Johansen, Rick Schavone, Matt Scoggin, Adam Soldati and Phil Tonne.

The Phil Boggs Award, which honors those who have achieved individual excellence in diving and have given back a part of themselves to assure the sport’s continuation and success, was presented to Matt Scoggin. The 1992 Olympic diver and three-time Olympic diving coach has greatly contributed to the development of the diving program at University of Texas throughout his many years as the director of the Longhorns’ men’s and women’s diving program. A veteran Longhorn himself, Matt competed for Texas from 1981-85. His diving career came to a close at the 1992 Barcelona Olympics where he was selected as team captain and reached the finals in men’s platform. He has been a six-time NCAA coach of the Year and was recognized by the U.S. Olympic Committee as the National Diving Coach of the Year in 2009 and 2010.

The Glenn McCormick Award, presented to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the sport of diving, was given to John Wingfield. Until recently accepting a position as assistant diving coach at Indiana University, Wingfield had served as director and head coach of USA Diving’s National Training Center. He also spent 10 years coaching at Ball State University prior to moving to Indianapolis in 1998. Wingfield served as the coach of USA Diving’s Regional Training Center until 2005, when Indianapolis became the home of the National Training Center and he became director and associate head coach. Wingfield has coached at many international diving events, most notably when he served as head coach of the 2008 Olympic Team. He will serve on the coaching staff at next month’s FINA World Junior Championships.

Justin Sochor was named the Moose Moss Age Group Coach of the Year for his team’s success at this year’s Age Group and Junior National Championships. The head coach of the Ohio State Diving Club was also named Head Coach of this year’s Junior World Championships Team, as three of his divers were selected to represent the United States in Australia in October.

Indiana University coach Jeff Huber won the Mike Peppe Award, presented to the outstanding senior diving coach, for the fifth consecutive season and 12th time in his career. Indiana Diving won the overall team title at the AT&T National Diving Championships in August.


Add Comment Register

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>