USA Diving

Junior National Champions: Isabella Chen & Ella Roselli, Joshua Hedberg, Isabel Baley, Leyton Dean


Five Champions Crowned on Final Day of Junior Nationals

The 2023 USA Diving TYR Junior National Championships wrapped up Tuesday as five gold medals in four events were handed out.

Joshua Hedberg of the Indiana International School of Diving won the 16-18 boys’ platform gold, while Leyton Dean of RipFest won the 14-15 boys’ platform gold. On 3-meter, Isabella Chen of McCormick Divers and Ella Roselli of the Mission Viejo Nadadores tied for gold in the 16-18 girls’ contest, and Isabel Baley of City of Midland won the 14-15 girls’ event.

Baley won gold for the second day in a row after winning a 1-meter gold on Monday. She scored 410.25 points to win the 3-meter gold, with silver going to Kayla Jensen at 402.20. Juliet Radich of Coral Springs Diving finished third with 380.90 points.

Chen and Roselli each scored 459.45 points on 3-meter to be crowned co-junior national champions. Bailee Sturgill of RipFest scored 454.30 points for third.

Hedberg won his 16-18 platform gold medal with 615.55 points, while Jake Welsh of the Mission Viejo Nadadores was second at 595.20. Tyler Wills of the Indiana International School of Diving scored 518.05 points for third.

Dean scored 384.05 points to win the 14-15 platform title. Rydan Russell of ACES Diving took silver at 374.95. Mikolas Schwickert (Clavadistas del Sol), the gold medalist on 1-meter and 3-meter, scored 368.00 points for third on platform.

Team awards were also presented at the conclusion of the USA Diving TYR Junior National Championships. The Mission Viejo Nadadores were the overall team champions as well as the girls’ team champions. The Montgomery Dive Club was crowned the boys’ team champion and finished second in the overall team standings.