Photos of gold medalists at USA Diving TYR Junior National Championships
USA Diving

Cristiano Garcia, Sophia Narbut, and ElliReese Niday


Garcia, Niday Sweep Their Age Groups; Narbut Also Wins Gold at Junior Nationals

MISSION VIEJO, California – Cristiano Garcia and ElliReese Niday won their third gold medals to sweep their age groups and Sophia Narbut also won gold on Wednesday, the fourth day of competition at the USA Diving TYR Junior National Championships.

Garcia captured gold on platform to complete his sweep in the 12-13 boys’ age group, while Niday won her third gold with a victory on 1-meter to sweep the 11-and-under girls’ events. Niday swept her age group for the second year in a row after also winning all three gold medals a year ago. Narbut rounded out the day four winners with gold in girls’ 12-13 3-meter.

Garcia, who dives with Montgomery Dive Club, scored 314.75 points to win the 12-13 platform title. Tyler Wilson of Stanford Diving came away with silver at 287.15 points, and Carlos Lujan of Orlando Dive Academy finished third with 282.60 points. Lujan was also third on 3-meter on Tuesday.

Niday of Moss Farms Diving completed her 11-and-under sweep with 255.60 points to win the 1-meter gold. Sawyer Watts of the Mission Viejo Nadadores won silver with 217.00 points, and Elle Jolley of the Carolina Diving Academy scored 213.40 points for third.

Narbut of Stanford Diving scored 343.10 points to win the 12-13 girls’ 3-meter gold. Sophia Hoffman of Knight Diving Academy, who won the 1-meter gold earlier in the week, scored 332.45 points to come away with the 3-meter silver. Brooklynn Grant of the Woodlands Diving Academy finished third at 327.90.

The USA Diving TYR Junior National Championships continue through August 1. With competition in the 11-and-under and 12-13 age groups now complete, the focus shifts to the 14-15 and 16-18 age groups. Thursday’s competition features preliminaries in four events: 16-18 girls’ 1-meter, 14-15 boys’ 3-meter, 14-15 girls’ platform and 16-18 boys’ 1-meter. In all, 28 junior national champions will be crowned throughout the junior nationals.